About Us


Montgomery County was the third county created by the Republic of Texas on December 14, 1837.  Montgomery County was named for the newly created town of Montgomery.  When Texas joined the Union in 1845, it was required to change the boundaries of its counties to make them smaller. As a result, Montgomery County was divided into six parts and became the parent county of Grimes, Madison, San Jacinto, Waller and Walker Counties.

Montgomery County Sheriffs

19th Century Sheriffs
  • Joshua Robbins - Ike Griffith
20th Century Sheriffs
  • Maben Alexander Anderson - Guy Williams
21st Century Sheriffs
  • Tommy Gage - Rand Henderson